Mom’s Words Return Through Baby Book

“Why would I want a baby book?” a common question from expectant parents and family members. There are perhaps hundreds of answers to this question, but let’s look into the future for the best answer.

One day while I was sitting in my office editing some product photos my phone rang. “Thank you for calling BabySakes” I answered warmly. John introduced himself and continued, “I’m so glad I reached you. You see, I had to call you and tell you about one of the greatest moments of my life!” I was intrigued and encouraged him to continue. As the owner of one of the largest baby book stores in the world I love hearing baby book stories…

John shared that he had just celebrated a major milestone in his life, his 60th birthday. He said friends and family came from near and far to surprise him that day. Sadly, he shared, there was one person missing, John’s mother. She had died the previous year and this was his first birthday without his mother. I could hear the emotion in John’s voice as he described “the best part of his 60th birthday surprise party.”

By far the best part of the day, John emphatically shared, was that his wife had found his baby book, scanned the pages and included them into a power point presentation. John said there wasn’t a dry eye in the room as they read the beloved words his mother had written about him as a baby. In her own handwriting he experienced her thoughts and feelings as she first met him. He said it was as if his Mom was there on his birthday.

John exclaimed, “I just had to call you and tell you what a difference the work you do makes in people’s lives.” His last words were the most heartfelt words of gratitude I’ve ever heard.

I know expectant parents spend hours picking out the right crib, stroller etc. While these are important items I feel choosing the right baby book is one of the most important choices of all. Long after the stroller is given away and the other baby “gear” are worn out the baby book lives on from generation to generation.

Leave a comment